New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    its my first time to make a long drive. am driving to Isabela sa holy week. longest drive ko e sa eight wacves in san rafael bulacan.

any tips on how can i prepare myself for this. and what should i bring during my drive?

thnx

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    not in any particular order, just what comes to mind...

1. check your car - oil, fan belts, brake fluid, clutch, ac, radiator, power steering fluid. make sure you have an extra set of fan belts with you if you are not sure of the condition of the fan belts. check your tyres, and check the reserve tyre, too. check your battery, you might need to fill some distilled water. fill water for the windshield washer.

fill up the gas tank and do not let it go below 1/2. ikaw na din nagsabi, 1st time mo mag long drive so you don't know where the next gas station is.

2. make sure you have your tools with you - jack, tyre wrench, some tools you might need if in case you're in the middle of nowhere and you then have to install that extra set of fan belts.

3. make sure you have some water for the radiator and an extra bottle of brake fluid.

4. flashlight and extra batteries. early warning device or EWD.

5. cell phone and car charger.

6. heavy rope, for towing.

7. hand cleaner and some rags just in case you need to fix something and your hands will get dirty. you can also bring some car shampoo in a small plastic bottle, good enough for one wash. your car will surely be very dirty when you get to isabela. also, buy some "wet ones" tissue, it works wonders to freshen up when you feel sleepy.

8. WD40. you'll never know when you'll need one!

9. CDs for music. there are no FM stations there, at kung meron man nako puro ocho-ocho ang tugtog hehehe!