New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Sirs, Just sold my altis last monday and got a 2006 CIVIC 2.0 yesterday. I am just curious, what is the stock speaker set up of this? the one installed is a Boston Acoustic SL65 on the rear.
    seems the old owner changed it? and seems there is no BASS on the sounds..is there a LOUD switch here somewhere or do I need to change the speakers?

SEEKING your inputs - I am a newbie on the is civic..
    Thank you in advance

2. Join Date
    Jan 2011
    the stock speakers are definitely not BAs. you have to fiddle with the head unit to adjust the bass to max to give you the ump you are looking for. check if there's an 8 inch speaker behind the rear seats. if there's none, then you don't have the amplifier, hence no subwoofer. Mine does.

if the bass is not enough for you, you can either add an amplifier and a sub or change the HU and add amp and sub. If you're opting for the later, you might want to change your other stock speakers (if they are still stock) since you will want to boost all your speakers not only the sub. this, though depends how much wattage your amp will be, the higher it is, the stock speakers might not be able to handle the power which will cause distorted sound.

visit crutchfield.com to research on which HU/Amp/Sub which will appeal to you most. good luck on your new car and enjoy the drive.

3. Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Thanks LNopal for the inputs.

I went to Eclipse almost infront of Shell, along del monte ave. riverside QC, they told me the HU cannot handle the installed speakers(Boston Acoustics SL65 at the rear and SL60 on the doors). They therefore recommend to change the HU to a Pioneer 2DIN HU.

Will it really be the case or is there an option to add just the AMP only to have a little "UMP" on my music? Or downgrade the speakers on the doors?

Thanks Sirs!

4. Join Date
    Jan 2011