New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Regardless if you roll in a Honda, I'm just curious what is/ are the repercussion/s of driving with the oil level ABOVE the Max Level of the dip stick?

I'm no newbie into cars, but I would love to hear a near-scientific point of view to this query of mine.

Thank you and happy reading.

2. Join Date
    Aug 2008
    [SIZE=3]The engine shall overheat.[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3] [/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]The oil in the oil pan would not cool since it is design for the design volume.[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3] [/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]I hope I gave you a good advise. Thanks.[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3] [/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]My email is practicalmechanic*gmail.com[/SIZE]

3. Join Date
    May 2007
    The engine produces a lot of heat which the oil helps to remove from critical bearing surfaces. Too low an oil volume will have your oil temperature going up and cooking the oil which turns it black prematurely. If overfill it can blow your main seal.

Modern vehicles have a warning system built into them to warn drivers of a low oil condition though I am not certain of this on your car. When the oil pickup sucks air instead of oil for only a fraction of time, the oil warning light will flash on the dash. If oil pressure is ever lost completely, this light will stay on solid.

4. Join Date
    Aug 2008
    [SIZE=3]Other purposes of oil are lubrication, maintain engine temperature and provide detergency action. To maintain your engine power you have to maintain oil level otherwise, lack of oil is equivalent to low engine power. If you notice your oil turning to black, this shows your engine oil is effective (detergency is cleaning your chamber).[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3] [/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3]The oil pressure switch provides the signal to your car’s instrument panel. If it is below the minimum level, the warning will light up. This is available on all vehicles.[/SIZE]