New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Hi guys! It's my first time to own a Honda, and i wanna know OEM parts as well as GOOD replacement parts.
    1. For suspension system, like tie rod end, ball joints, bushings, etc.
    2. For engine/tranny, like timing belts, spark plugs, clutch system, etc.

Thanks in advance.

2. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    I would not advise on replacement parts, unless they are of performance grade which are usually durable than the OEM parts.

I gambled on replacement parts for my civic's front suspension before (federal mogul and 555)... Ayun, after one month, kalampag ulit at mas matindi pa dun sa dati.

So far, there are only two replacement parts I can recommend... Bendix brake pads and yung replacement air filter (forgot the brand). Let's wait for replies from other people if they have good experience on other replacement parts.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I use Three Five (555) for ball joints. Just make sure they are original as the market is flooded with counterfeit Three Five products. For the tie rods, and some bushings (the smaller ones), I just use Cruven and M7.

Gates makes timing belt replacement kits. They're not bad. You'd have enough money left to get a GMB water pump and other bearings/gaskets that may need to be replaced. For spark plugs, just use the same brand and type Honda uses. No need to get from Honda. Yung box lang ang naiiba. Clutches are seldom replaced, I'd spring for an OEM set though I won't be buying from the casa.

Remember that not all replacement parts are created equal so it's always good to shop around. Even replacement parts have brand names.

http://docotep.multiply.com/
    Need an Ambulance? We sell Zic Brand Oils and Lubricants. Please PM me.

4. Join Date
    Jan 2003