New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Guys need your expert advise regarding what bulb does our Honda City use (e.g H4 etc) for HID upgrade. Is it the same on the fog lamps? What K rating is recommended? Is it worth voiding the warranty?

What other mods is recommended?

I just got my 1.5e last week and I'm looking at upgrading to HID. I'm new to this since this is my 1st car.

Thanks in advance. All the best.

2. Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Leave it as it is.

Rationale:

a) Warranty & Reliability. Moving to an HID kit voids the electrical warranty. If the installer doesn't know what he's doing, then he's just screwing up the electricals on your brand new car - which could lead to problems a few years from now. Plus kung may ibang nasira na electricals, you may no longer be able to claim from the dealership. Take note that HID is not just the bulb. It will involve additional wire splicing since you need to install the ballast, etc. Once ni splice na yan ng mali, mahirap na ayusin. This is why I rarely touch the electronics on our cars.

b) Glare. Cheap HIDs are glare monsters. Pansinin mo yung mga Fortuner sa daan na naka HID, lalo kapag tinututukan ka sa likod. Sakit sa ulo diba? I'm sure that's "cool". Kapag ikaw na yun, magiging sakit ka lang ng ulo sa daan.

c) Bad illumination (related to b). The stock headlights are designed to be fitted with halogen bulbs and not HID bulbs. End result is that sabog yung buga nito, causing poor road illumination (Again, the example with the glare monsters on the roads). Plus, higher K rating bulbs are pretty useless when the weather turns bad. You end up barely seeing anything. Not nice to be driving at night in the rain. Nag bayad ka na for the HID, hindi naman pala upgrade. The 'porma' look isn't worth it in my opinion.