New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Hi guys,, ask ko lng po kung mganda at pede ba tanggalin ung catalytic converter, because just recently had a muffler change, and the mechanic told me na para mas ma maximize ko pa ung power i need to remove the cataytic converter, ok lng ba na tanggalin ung converter to produce additional HP or will it do something bad to the engine if i remove it? btw it has sensor daw so medyo delicate ung removal nun any advice po?

thanks tsikot.

2. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    I'm no expert, opinion ko lang dont do it. The catalytic converter is there to minimize emmissions. If you remove it, your emmsisiions will increase. I have heard that it will increase hp. But I really dont trust the guy who told me. So I dont know if removing it will increase your hp or its bs. It was put there by the engineers and designers so why take it out?

Best wait for the experts to chime in.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    you can remove it ONLY if you do not use MY air! stop messing with the air my CHILDREN breathe! the catalytic converter was put there to comply with air emmision standards that were set to protect the HEALTH OF PEOPLE and the SAFETY OF THE ENVIRONMENT. if you remove it then make sure you only run your car inside your garage, with the doors closed and you locked inside. gusto mong mamatay magpakamatay kang magisa at huwag ka mandamay ng iba.

FOLLOW THE LAW PLEASE! LAWS WERE NOT MADE FOR YOU TO BREAK.

4. Join Date
    Aug 2005
    ang purpose ng catalytic converter ay to convert harmful compounds to safer compounds.

konting konti lang ma gain sa power pag tinaggal ito. konti lang din ang ma gain pag nag palit ng muffler lang. kahit na pagsabayin pa rin ito, konting konti lang talaga ang gains.

5. Join Date
    Aug 2004