New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 38 of 38 FirstFirst ... 283435363738
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Hi, let me join the discussion. I just bought a 2010 Ford Focus TDCI two weeks ago and so far I'm very happy with it. The powershift transmission is great, but I think mine has some problems. A split second before I hit a full stop, lumalagutok yung transmission. Feels like 2 beats of ABS kicking in. It also happens when I'm accelerating from a full stop. Hinala ko it's when the clutch engages or disengages or whatever. It's very subtle but I'm very particular about sounds and vibrations so I'm going to have it checked tomorrow (my 1,000KM maintenance checkup).

Do the other Focus TDCI owners feel this ticking thing too?

I kind of took a leap of faith choosing to buy a car that's made in the Philippines (I'm a development economist, so I was thinking why don't I help the local manufacturing sector?). Sana lang maganda ang QC, and that my car fares better than all the horror stories I've read here in tsikot.
    Last edited by teammate; April 12th, 2010 at 02:34 AM. Reason: etc

2. Join Date
    Nov 2009
    ALSO, let me share my real-world FC data. I joined tsikot primarily to look up real-world car FCs. I was looking for a good compromise between great FC and not bad styling. Almost ended up with a Hyundai Accent simply because of the great FC, or a Corolla Altis because I just really like the styling in front. Was actually gunning for the new Tucson, but the diesel wasn't set to be released until mid-year 2010. Ended up with the Focus and I'm the happiest kid in the block.

*The Focus is claimed to do 6.5L/100KM (15.4KM/L) combined City/Highway I think.

Anyway, my real-world FC: