New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie on cars... however, I want to modify my ride to make it as fast/responsive as possible... (inspired by Fast Five) hehehe...

I want to start modifying my Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 S.E.G. ride... I'm done with the body kits and paint job so my next step is my engine... do you guys have any suggestions on what should I modify here???

thanks a lot!!!

2. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Dump the 1.8 AT and install a 3SGE.

Simple modifications won't net you much in terms of power... and improper modification of the exhaust will lose you low end torque, which would be a pain given your car is an automatic. But typically, you can see some decent gains with an intake and a piggyback air-fuel computer like an APEXi SAFC.

Ang pagbalik ng comeback...

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by neozeke View Post
    Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie on cars... however, I want to modify my ride to make it as fast/responsive as possible... (inspired by Fast Five) hehehe...

I want to start modifying my Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 S.E.G. ride... I'm done with the body kits and paint job so my next step is my engine... do you guys have any suggestions on what should I modify here???

thanks a lot!!!

The only worthwhile thing to do to get more power with your car is either a nitrous kit, turbocharge your existing engine or do a engine swap with a 4AGE 20v silver-top engine.

Doing anything else to increase the performance of the existing engine would be a waste of money. That would include intake, headers, exhaust, S-AFC, etc.

4. Join Date
    May 2011
    a corolla is a small new family car, if you want a fast car, buy a ferrari. corollas were meant to be a get around car.

5. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    thanks for the info... how much will a brand new S-AFC cost me???