New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 639 of 655 FirstFirst ... 539589629635636637638639640641642643649 ... LastLast
Results 6,381 to 6,390 of 6542
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by gearhead000 View Post
    Nakupo, almost 4,000 na pala. Hanap na lang talaga ng viable alternative. So check you usage.
    Kung pamalengke at panghatid lang ng mga bata saka office visits (WFH pa karamihan) baka di kailangan ng premium oils.
    Actually, kahit yung mga highways natin eh restricted lang tayo to 100kph, then di rin naman kalayuan at just 300km or so.

I'm just beginning to understand that these 'cheap' Zic, Hyundai, etc. "fully/ 100% synthetic" engine oils are mostly from VHVI base oils.
    That is, unlike yung mga PAO or Group IV base oils, these are Group II/ Group III hydrocracked oils to have those PAO characteristics.
    So tanggap ko rin na sa mga usual use case scenario sa atin, these can already offer enough protection better than mineral oils.
    You get the benefits of pure synthetic oils (up to a point), at a mineral or semi-synthetic oil price point.

But then I can also understand the others who chose to pay for their peace of mind.
    My simple mind tells me that when a vehicle calls for a certain mileage or time when to change the oil and does not specify anything except for the 5w30 whatchamacallit thingie, I take it that mineral oil will just do fine.

With Facebook, I realized people tend to baby their vehicles, to the point of asking what's your bling or asking what bling do they need to put. So I also understand why most people who only use their cars every so often try to overthink what's the best oil to use.

2. Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by gearhead000 View Post
    Nakupo, almost 4,000 na pala. Hanap na lang talaga ng viable alternative. So check you usage.