New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Hi, I am a British doctor working as a volunteer in Zambales. I am working with Aeta tribes many kilometres from the nearest road, and am hoping to be able to build a hovercraft in order to be able to reach them by flying/driving it along a river bed.
    At the moment I am trying to find a suitable engine for our craft. We need one that has a power of between 70 - 100hp, but is light in weight, preferably an aluminum block. It also needs to be reliable, and reasonably easy to get parts for in the Philippines.
    People from abroad who have worked with hovercraft before have suggested a Subaru engine like the EA82, or perhaps a Suzuki (maybe the G13). Anyway - I have no idea if these engines are available here or not, and as I'm new to the Philippines I also have no idea where to find them.
    So firstly, does anyone know if these engines or similar ones are available here?
    Secondly, if they are not available - does anyone have any idea of possible replacements? Remember light weight is the most important criteria as it has to fly!
    Thirdly - where can I find them - on Luzon if possible?

Advance maraming salamat sa inyong advice, at tumulong sa akin. (Nagtuto ako ng Tagalog, pero hindi pa magaling ako!)
    Rick Hartland

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    how about a Honda D16 engine? The one that comes with the civic? Or the carburated 1.5L version of the Honda Civic 1.5L?

Anyway, try contacting

SPEEDLAB
    376-46-48
    376-46-51
    Contact person: Ferman
    Address: 871 Quezon Ave, Quezon City
    Last edited by ghosthunter; February 14th, 2008 at 03:25 PM.

3. Join Date
    Aug 2004