New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Hi Guys. I bought recently a second hand 96 Lancer GLXi A/T. I filled up the tank with 38 liters of gasoline, (full tank) but the low fuel light indicator kept on blinking. The owner told me that it might be adjusting because the tank is not used to being filled to the full. "Baka daw nag-aadjust pa yung floater".

I noticed also that the fuel gauge rapidly dropped to almost empty after travelling 195 kms. That would translate to just 5 kms/liter of fuel consumption. For those who own the same car, is this really the consumption? Or I need to have the fuel gauge checked. If ever, to what car shop should I bring it? Sorry, newbie here.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    I don't know if it's a problem with the fuel gauge or the car is really a gas guzzler. I travel 38 kms everyday from home to the office and back. My trusty 97 Civic AT provides me with 7-9 kms/liter and 1 full tank lasts 6 days. With this 96 Lancer GLXI, I already had 2 full tanks for the week. What seems to be the problem? May problema yung gauge ko kasi ang bilis bumaba ng gas or malakas talaga sagas ang kotse na to. Your opinions please. Thanks.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    there could be a problem with the fuel gauge. but imho, the itlog glxi is really a guzzler. may kaibigan ako, swertehan na daw sa kanya ang 7 kpl. he averages around 5-6 kpl city.

try mo din muna ipa tune-up, baka sakaling mag improve, maski konti.

4. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by the lark View Post