New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    peeps.. im a newbie here.. i just bought a used civic ESi and i recently had its timing belt and tensioner changed for PMS. a reputable mechanic ( who btw has been the resident mechanic of my dad since i was 10 years old - im 24 now) worked on installing the new belt. after finishing the job and firing the ignition up, the engine wont start. we've tried charging the battery, thinking that it might have been discharged coz of the worklamp - didn't do crap. so we also used another battery - didnt do crap either. now im stuck with a car in our garage on a rainy season. the mechanic told me that the ignition coil gave up and im forced to buy a new one which would probably cost around 2K. its so frustrating since the car was VERY reliable before i had the belt changed. starts in one click, fuel efficient, and gets me from point A to point B. i guess this is what i get for not letting speedyfix work on it instead..

so my question is, do you guys think the mechanic is right about changing the ignition coil? thanks in advance... more power to tsikot...

2. Join Date
    Dec 2003
    did the mechanic use a timing light to properly set the timing belt? baka basta nalang pinalitan without properly using a timing light.

although i dont know if that has something to do with the car not starting.

3. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Did the engine at least crank?

If yes, possible nga na ignition coil, replacement should cost less thank 1k

4. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    i dont think he used a timing light.. he just made sure that the crankshaft had its TDC at the right place. i've read honda's user manual, and that's the same procedure shown. may i ask what a timing light is anyway? thnx...

5. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by chris_d View Post
    Did the engine at least crank?