New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

View Poll Results: Does a non-moving A/T car consume more fuel if the shifter is in D or N ??

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • consumes more fuel in D

44 67.69%
  • consumes more fuel in N

0 0%
  • I don't know.

17 26.15%
  • I would like a faux sunroof for my car.

4 6.15%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Linalagay ko lang sa N kapag matindi talaga ang trapik. Kapag moving tulad ng sa EDSA ay D ako palagi. Preno-preno lang. Hindi ko naman namamalayan kung ano ang mas malakas sa gasolina. Ang importante ay komportable ako magmaneho.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2005
    I'm no expert so do correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it's the same given that your idling would be the same whether in N or D (while stationary of course).

OT: I wouldn't reccomend putting it in P while traffic. If someone bumps you it might ruin your transmission. Put it in N + parking brake

3. Join Date
    Aug 2007
    IMHO better to shift AT to N during long stops, take consideration sa AirCon mo it takes load from engine tapos dadag dagan mo pa ng load sa pag pigil sa engine pag stop at D. Possibly same ang RPM mo kasi automatic na nag aadjust ito.

Extra Question:
    for Automatic Transmissions,
    ok lang ba na during cruising tapos nakita mo ahead nag red ang stop light e mag slow down ka (level road, not down hill) by shifting to N + brake hangang sa makarating ka sa stop light for full stop? is this good or bad sa tranny? lets say cruising at 150kph you deaccelerate at N for about 200 - 300 meters? then if ever the light turns green before reaching the lights i rev up the engine to 2,500 then shift to D.

4. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    ^bakit nag N ka pa? para saan yun?? does that save you gas by doing that?? i just stay in D then half break.. then kung biglang nag green.. eh di diretso lang.

5. Join Date
    Aug 2007