New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by WOS View Post
    Negative comments I heard: (anybody is welcome to rebutt them, since I am no expert )
    1. Tucson - under chassis problems will crop up after 5 yrs.
    2. Fortuner - bumpy (matagtag)
    3. RAV4 - overpriced
    4. CRV 2.0S - guzzler
    5. CX-5 - brand & service reliabilty
    6. Forester 2.0XS - guzzler / too slow when overtaking / car frame thin (sounds like "lata" when you close the door

Thanks in advance for your comments.
    1. Not quite sure. Possible since the suspension is soft, but typically, for the crossovers on that list, you will need to do some suspension work within five years and 100,000 kms. Have not heard complaints from friends yet. The Fortuner might go longer since it has a heavy duty suspension.

2. True, but the newer one is better than before. Still not nearly as comfy as a Tucson or X-Trail, but no longer vomit inducing.

3. Yes. The premium version is so expensive that it makes the premium Santa Fe seem like a grand bargain. Who the heck would pay that much for a gasoline-powered five-seat crossover? :p

4. Who says that? People I know with the automatic 2.0 are very happy with the economy. The OLD CR-V 2.0 was horrible. Incredibly bad. The new CR-V 2.0 uses the new R20 engine and can get 7-8 km/l in the city (the old K20 was around 4-6 km/l with the AT). The new K24 is also much better than the 2nd gen K24 car, but still not great in the city (typically 6 km/l). The old K24 AWD my uncle had was just as thirsty as his 4.0 Explorer.