New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Hi Guys

This is my first time to buy a second hand car and i don't really have any idea on the things i should do. Could somebody give me a list of things i have to check, and make sure i should accomplish before i close the deal? (e.g transfer of ownership, what documents i should get from the owner,etc)

Just want to make sure i don't have to worry for anything after i get the car.

Thanks!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    signed deed of sale
    original OR/CR
    sedula ng seller
    xeroxed ID ng seller

siyempre most important that your would be car is in tip top condition.

3. Join Date
    Aug 2005
    add ko lang pa-verify mo muna sa TMG and LTO ung vehicle baka mamya carnap pala o peke OR/CR mo. I've seen a lot of "original OR/CR" and believe me when I say hindi mukang peke ang mga ito.

4. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    and make sure yung signature sa OR ay sakto sa signature sa deed of sale, sa xerox sa ID at cancellation of mortgage(if needed) papahrapan ka ng LTO kung hindi esakto yung pirma...

5. Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Check the CR and see if there is a notation stating that the vehicle is "Encumbered". This means that the vehicle is still owned by the bank or some financial institution. Do not sign the deed yet. You need to demand that the seller should provide a signed release paper form the lending institution if he/she claims that the vehicle is already paid in full. Better yet, you should ask the seller to clear up the CR with the LTO where the vehicle is first registered. (A new CR without the encumbered notation should be released by LTO).

6. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    FYI: para mas madaling tandaan, "Encumbered" CRs are colored blue, while regular CRs are yellow.
    Signature

7. Join Date
    Oct 2005