New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Hello Tsikot! I'm a newbie to this forum and found out about it while google-ing car reviews for a mazda 3

anyway, the Family has given me the budget 350k for a second hand car. Both my parent's do not know how to drive or know alot about car's Basically this will be the first car of the family. I'm willing to add up to 100k tops to the budget for a car I like so (so that's about 450k)

The family first decided for the first gen vios (03-05), priced at 300-350k (prices are based on sulit.com), it's cheap, low FC, cheap to maintain (I often make the joke you can buy spare parts of toyota from a sari sari store *peace*) but my
    sister and I agree.... it's a taxi >.< though of course that could be fixed with a little customization here an there

while searching sulit for some more cars - I found out that the 05 mazda 3 is almost the price with a 03-05 vios.
    if both are 2005models, 1.5L engine and A/T the price would almost be the same. (I prefer hatchback though :D) So I
    thought why not a mazda 3 instead ??? it certainly looks cool and sporty (specially the hatchback :D ). but but but, I've heard a lot of negative comments for the mazda 3. the FC is high (<10km/L i think?), maintenance is high (alot of people complain the shock absorbers), and according to many "sirain" daw. though I have a tito that says he is very happy with his mazda 3, it's very spacious (*nice*) and he has no complains over the FC and maintenance of the car, and he doesn't think it's sirain :D