New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Mar 2006
    basag / scratchy sound from car speakers

hi all. im no audio expert here and would appreciate if i can get some help. my car's stock speakers used to be decent and clean sounding but recently ive been hearing a lot of scratch and "basag" tones especially from bass lines. sounds like a small desktop speaker volumed up to the max. is there any DIY i can do check/do before i spend time in a shop? thank you very much! car is civic 99 if it helps. ;)

2. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Check the wiring for loose connection and grounding.

3. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Well... depends on how DIY you are. Walter's suggestion isn't for newbies or ones who hates dismantling their panels apart

First I'll do is that I'll check the head unit tone controls. I'll make sure they're at +/- 0 (zero) to try to eliminate EQ-related distortion. If I'll put it in simple matters, EQ-related distortion is when you pump one parameter excessively and the music runs out of "data" to boost.

Second is I'll try to assess the condition of the speakers. Kung nabasa yun speakers mo, that's pretty much a guaranteed replacement na. If there are holes in it, then that's physical damage na.

These are probably the DIY-friendly things you can do. What you're hearing is called distortion.. very bad distortion in fact since it's very audible. If I were to take a guess, this is probably mechanical-related such as an misaligned magnet, spider, or cone that happened due to wear and tear.

Wirings are pretty good naman as long as you don't tamper with it. However, if you've been a fan of 3rd party accessories, you might want to double-check your wirings since it's also a possible culprit.