New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Tsikot Members,

I'm a newbie... and I'm planning to buy my first car (but limited budget) =( Saw this BMW 520I E34 in Tsikot, fell inlove with it... But honestly I don't know what I'm putting myself into if i buy this car... What should i know? How would i know if the Car is still in excellent condition as the seller is saying it so... Since it's a 1988 model, run for about 50,000km should i worry about the maintenace? and if so can the parts be found other than BMW dealers???

I need a lot of learning... Hope you can share me your words of wisdom... don't want to have my first car as a failure... =)

Best of Luck to All,
    sib's

2. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    A new driver with a limited budget and an E34 for a first car is a recipe for disaster.

Save yourself from heartaches, headaches and a much lighter bank account ... run away from it as fast as you can.

3. Join Date
    Jul 2008
    I concur. Buy a fuel saving vehicle such as a Vios or Jazz. BMWs are great but if you have limited budget can you really hold on to its upkeep?

Remember maintenance of a BMW is very high.

4. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by StraightSix View Post
    A new driver with a limited budget and an E34 for a first car is a recipe for disaster.

Save yourself from heartaches, headaches and a much lighter bank account ... run away from it as fast as you can.
    ^Hahaha!!!!!

Seriously, +1 on this.

Let me share a story:

I had a friend who has a 1989 520i E34 which I eventually sold to my classmate in CSB for Php350k. The deal was this, since the seller is a friend of mine and the buyer is also a friend of mine, the seller disclosed everything about the car like history and known troubles. Also, the seller endorsed the buyer to his "talyer" that specializes on European cars.